Gutter Helmet Of The Pikes Peak Region - HORRIBLE Customer Service in Colorado Springs!

2 comments
Not resolved
1.1
Details
Advertised vs Delivered
Customer service
Diversity of Products or Services
Exchange, Refund and Cancellation Policy
Price Affordability
Product or Service Quality
Reliability
Service Scheduling
Staff
Turnaround Time
Value for money
Warranty

Gutter Helmet's customer service is next-to-nothing in Colorado Springs. They promptly make appointments if you are BUYING their product, but if you have any issues once the product is installed, they NEVER respond. I purchased my Gutter Helmet about 5 years ago. I had to have my roof replaced 3 years ago due to hail damage (which Colorado Springs is famous for), but roofers are not allowed to touch Gutter Helmet or it will negate your "warranty" with Gutter Helmet. You have to call Gutter Helmet to uninstall the product (which, of course, you then have to pay them several hundred dollars to do so). My insurance company allowed for less than $100 for Gutter Helmet to come out and uninstall and then REINSTALL the product. When they came out, Gutter Helmet totally ripped off/destroyed the product, saying that it needed to be completely replaced with new product, and that they would contact my insurance company and "make sure they pay for" the new product. My insurance company never did approve the replacement of the Gutter Helmet (because it was NOT damaged by hail!), and after a year of complaining to Gutter Helmet, I gave up. So, I paid a couple of thousand dollars to have Gutter Helmet for a little over a year, and now I have nothing. My roofers told me they have had several customers tell them to just *** the Gutter Helmet completely because they are so disappointed in the product and service!

My 80-year-old mom has also had issues with their customer service and the product itself. (I feel bad that I talked her into getting it soon after I got mine). Her Gutter Helmet has become loose, and therefore, a lot of twigs and debris are getting into the gutters. The gutters are so full of stuff that it is now also causing damage to her gutters. She has called Gutter Helmet several times to come out to fix the problem, and they just keep blowing her off. They tell her that they will have the field person call her back to make an appointment, but he never does. Also of note - Gutter Helmet's "warranty" states that if the damage is caused by anything other than the manufacture or installation of their product, the product is not covered. My mom's Helmets are coming loose, which in my opinion is due to the way they installed it. They tell her on the phone it is probably due to the weather, which they do not cover. How can they tell that if they don't even come out to look at it??!?

I am kicking myself now that I did not file a complaint with the BBB. Maybe that would have helped me to resolve the issue in some manner. I now just get up on my 3-story house/3-tiered roof myself (55 year old female) and clean the gutters out myself! I do NOT recommend Gutter Helmet!

Product or Service Mentioned: Gutter Helmet Of The Pikes Peak Region Gutter Guard Installation.

Reason of review: Poor customer service.

Monetary Loss: $3000.

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution.

I didn't like: Performance, Client communications, Failure to install what i was sold, Customer service.

  • Gutter Helmet Colorado Springs
Company wrote 0 private or public responses to the review from Sep 19, 2016.

Comments

PattiH
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #1214904

Okay, so the site is still blanking out the words, so I'll reword it: "several customers tell them to just REMOVE the Gutter Helmet completely because they are so disappointed in the product and service!"

PattiH
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #1214903

Update: I just read my review that was posted, and for some reason the site blanked out some words - they were not curse words! At the end of the first paragraph, it should read "...several customers tell them to just *** (missing words) the Gutter Helmet completely because they are so disappointed in the product and service!"

Just wanted to clear that up

Gutter Helmet Of The Pikes Peak Region - Gutter Helmet Nightmare Experience

2 comments
Not resolved
1.4
Details
Advertised vs Delivered
Customer service
Discounts and Special Offers
Diversity of Products or Services
Exchange, Refund and Cancellation Policy
Price Affordability
Product or Service Quality
Reliability
Service Scheduling
Staff
Turnaround Time
Value for money
Warranty
Website

In all good consciousness, we cannot recommend Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region (Colorado Springs, CO) after their blatant mismanagement: professionally, ethically and legally. After doing business with GH, water damage started to appear.

We later discovered that GH's install was not done properly and needed to be readjusted; an easy fix, right? Wrong! Once we addressed our concerns with the company's owners (Kirt and Vicki Byerly) they illegally voided our warranty and refused assistance. We complained about our mistreatment online where GH tried everything in their power to delete and discredit our complaints unethically.

If that was not bad enough, GH also tried to falsely accuse me of harassment to the police department (which was dropped); this is not an exaggeration! GH really tried to have me thrown in jail for exercising our First Amendment right all because they did not like us informing the public of their shady business practices. Now, GH is being investigated by CSPD for their questionable actions. Again, we cannot put into words how disgusted we are with GH's misconduct and would inform everyone to take your business elsewhere.

UPDATE: Due to negative feedback GH contacted us and said they would pay for the repairs we already had another company fix, so my lawyer set over the paperwork requested. Afterwards, GH refused to pay after they said they would? In my honest opinion, these business owners are not only deceitful and untrustworthy but incompetent.

Kirt and Vicki Byerly do not deserve to be in business. You’ve been warned!

Product or Service Mentioned: Gutter Helmet Of The Pikes Peak Region Customer Care.

Reason of review: Poor customer service.

Monetary Loss: $1200.

Preferred solution: Full refund.

I didn't like: Customer service, Warranty.

Company wrote 0 private or public responses to the review from Apr 15, 2016.

Comments

rollo2016
#1145224

Can't your attorney sue for damages since you had another company fix the original bad work?

luciddreamer78
to rollo2016 Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #1145313

Yeah, going to court was something we where looking to avoid but you're right.

Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region improperly installed new gutters, continually misdiagnosed leaks and will NOT accept accountability for damage done…STAY AWAY!!!

44 comments
Not resolved

Update by user Apr 19, 2015

In all good conscious, we cannot recommend Gutter Helmet after their blatant mismanagement: professionally, ethically and legally. After doing business with Gutter Helmet, water damage started to appear.

We later discovered that Gutter Helmet’s install was not done properly and needed to be readjusted.

An easy fix, right? Wrong!

Once we addressed our concerns with the company’s owner (Kirt Byerly) he illegally voided our warranty and refused assistance. We complained about our mistreatment online where Gutter Helmet tried everything in their power to discredit our complaints.

If that was not bad enough, Gutter Helmet also tried to falsely accuse me of harassment to the police department.

This is not an exaggeration! Gutter Helmet really tried to have me thrown in jail for exercising our first amendment right; all because they did not like us informing the public of their shady business practices.

Now, Gutter Helmet is being investigated by our local law enforcement for their questionable actions. Again, we cannot put into words how disgusted we are with Gutter Helmet’s misconduct and would inform everyone to STAY AWAY!

Update by user Jan 08, 2014

We originally had our old gutters replaced due to water leakage with new gutters through SEMCO’s Gutter Helmet. Our sales representative, Linda Radunsky, had the installers Zac and Scott install new gutters. After the install we continued to have water leakage, so we had the company come out to fix the problem. This time the employee representing Gutter Helmet, Troy, cocked the brackets of the gutters that was never the issue and said, "You're good to go! No more leaks...I guarantee it!" However, the leakage problem continues to this day! Our gutters now drain incorrectly and leak water in-between the gutters and fascia boards themselves causing more water damage and rot that we never had an issue with before our "new gutters" were installed! After calling out several other reputable companies, we found that all our gutters were improperly installed. Next, I spoke with a new co-owner, Vicki Byerly, and an employee, Iris Shaw, on two separate occasions. Both women explained Gutter Helmet would fix the problem at no additional cost to us and they would honor our warranty (which we were given a 10 year warranty on parts and labor). However, when Vicki’s husband, Kirt Byerly, came out to inspect the work done he accepted no liability or responsibility!? He even went as far as to pass blame on our roofers, ripped down a portion of our gutters during inspection and then voided our warranty? Kirt Byerly was incompetent, condescending and unprofessional and I would strongly advise against his company, Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region.

And after posting our grievance with the company, Gutter Helmet, we received no communication or assistance from the local owners, Kirt and Vicki Byerly. These business owners displayed how completely unsympathetic and unwilling to assist with their company’s improper gutter installation. So, I tried to receive contact information on my territories regional manager, corporate office and/or a customer service department to complain where none was found or given by Gutter Helmet. This is a telling sign of their company policy; bottle-neck any legitimate complaints moving up the chain-of-command and making it so difficult to reach an authoritative individual that their dissatisfied customer base will just give up out of pure frustration.

It was only through my own inquiries and no assistance from the company that I found Chelsea Welsh was the National Marketing Manager of Gutter Helmet/SEMCO. It turns out that Gutter Helmet is owned by SEMCO Southeastern Metals. I had to post another complaint online asking Chelsea Welsh to contact me since the only information I could find on her was personal and not business related and did not feel comfortable contacting her outside of work. Chelsea Welsh contacted me and stated she would mediate our situation and keep an open line of communication at all times, which turned out to be false. She explained some details to us that we were never aware of and that Gutter Helmet failed to inform us upon. First, we were told by Gutter Helmet’s sales representative, Linda Radunsky, that we would have a 10 year warranty on parts and labor. That fact was even confirmed by Vicki Byerly (Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region) when she stated we were covered due to our 10 year warranty, but later refuted. After looking over our original sales receipt it states that a “written warranty’s” duration was supposed to be given at the time of job competition that we never received? However, Gutter Helmet’s documentation states they guarantee a “professional install,” which was also…never received! Now, I am starting to see Gutter Helmet’s shady and unethical business practices at this point. Second, Gutter Helmet does not normally install gutters. I was confused when Chelsea Welsh discussed this information since Gutter Helmet sold, installed and warranted our gutters!? Well, it turns out that Gutter Helmet subcontracted out our work with another company and never informed us upon this decision. If we had known all this information up-front we would have taken our business elsewhere. However, Gutter Helmet felt it was better to lie and deceive us out of our money instead.

After Gutter Helmet hires a subcontractor to incorrectly install our gutters, I wanted to know what Gutter Helmet/SEMCO at the corporate level was willing to do to correct this issue since the Byerly’s were reluctant to assist in correcting the issue their company created. Chelsea Welsh stated she needed all our original paperwork form Gutter Helmet before moving forward. I thought this request was a bit odd since the last time I discussed this matter with our local Gutter Helmet (in Colorado Springs, CO.) they had copies of our original paperwork…mmm…how else were they able to look up our gutter installation information and state our warranty duration? I would have imagined Chelsea Welsh would have requested it from this particular Gutter Helmet location? Unless, Chelsea Welsh wanted to see if we still had our original paperwork and a possible legitimate legal case against them. Again, Gutter Helmet’s crude business tactics are quite apparent and is practiced, regrettably, throughout the entire company itself. It seemed Gutter Helmet was looking for an excuse to relinquish themselves of any liability and/or responsibility from their improper install; however I decided to accommodate her request. I sent Chelsea Welsh a copy of our original paperwork and figured they would want to fix the problem and not prolong this matter further. Yet, I underestimated Gutter Helmet’s deceitfulness to force their will upon us.

After several weeks of tying to delegate this matter, I finally received a voicemail message from a man named Kirt representing Gutter Helmet out of Denver. He stated that, “Chelsea Welsh gave him the okay to move forward in fixing our gutters.” So, Kirt said, “He would be sending out a subcontractor to get an estimate of work needed to fix our gutters properly.” The subcontractor, Jon Quesenberry, with Rain Guard Seamless Gutters came to the house and gave an estimate of work needed. Jon said, “He would send this information off to Gutter Helmet and would do the work as soon as Gutter Helmet approves it.” A few days passed, yet again, with no contact from either Jon Quesenberry or Gutter Helmet, I contacted Chelsea Welsh were she sends a “legal document” for us to sign at the last minute before proceeding with their promised work. Chelsea Welsh never stated we would have to sign anything before and now Gutter Helmet/SEMCO is making it a requirement? Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s legal document strips us of any legal action against the company, absolves them of any wrong doing and silences us from ever speaking out against the corporation in person or in writing for the rest of our lives…no joke…it states it as a requirement. Here is an example, “It is also agreed that Betty Duran and Jason Griego will never make a complaint or say a disparaging word in public or private or in person or electronically about Gutter Helmet and any persons or business associated with Gutter Helmet from now until the end of time. Betty Duran and Jason Griego also agree to immediately take down, remove, cease and desist any active complaints, disparaging reviews anything and everything in print or electronically with any naming Gutter Helmet or its agents.” Yes, this is verbatim and just a portion of their absurd document they wanted us to sign.

Once I question this legal document’s necessity and expressed our reluctance to sign it (especially before any work was done) Chelsea Welsh became extremely agitated and cut off all contact. So, how do you mediate if the mediator themselves will not communicate with you? That’s right, you can’t! Chelsea Welsh’s mannerism was extremely childish and unprofessional on her part. She went as far as commenting on another post afterwards, but did not have the common decency to communicate with us? And as far as her comments, I never tried to hide the fact that I was speaking on my family’s behalf upon this matter…where I told her this fact from the beginning. Also, Chelsea Welsh’s distasteful comment of accusing me of cyber-bulling her is a straight out lie and ridiculous. I was contacting Chelsea Welsh because she was our negotiator in this matter. I cannot believe Gutter Helmet’s extreme unprofessional, combative and unethical manner has gone unchecked from its affiliate, Gibraltar Industries Company?

After Chelsea Welsh broke off all contact, I decided to contact Kirt at the Denver office to find out what the *** was going on? I was immediately contacted with another Gutter Helmet representative, Carl Shive, which had to call Chelsea Welsh personally to find out what was happening. Sad, but true, I was forced to talk through a third-party in order to communicate with our “unresponsive mediator.” Quite absurd I know, but it gets worse! Carl Shive told me the Vice President of Gutter Helmet/SEMCO, Michael J. Scott, would be taking over this situation personally. I thought we would finally be able to move forward in a timely manner with a more experienced professional, but I was terribly mistaken.

Michael J. Scott’s first email communication was to advise us not to communicate with Chelsea Welsh, which was apparent at this point. Also, by personally replying to Chelsea Welsh’s unprofessional comment was “inflammatory and libelous and will not be tolerated!” Really? So, Gutter Helmet is finding fault in trying to clarify a situation or just exercising the First Amendment right altogether? Yes, an awful start towards mediation if this was ever Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s true intention.

At this point, I spoke with the Better Business Bureau to help facilitate this situation and forwarded the needed Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s documentation for review. The Better Business Bureau advised to receive the $800 check and pursue our own subcontractor for work needed for the signed legal document, which is stated in Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s own document. However, this exchange should be done in person to assure Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s sincerity to fulfill their promise at time of signing. Here is that portion of the document verbatim, “Please understand, Gutter Helmet can’t be held responsible for gutter installations, but for this special situation we will remedy this problem by hiring Rain Guard Seamless Gutter or issuing a check for you to pick your own contractor. Gutter Helmet will pay a sum of $800 to repair your installation issues. This payment is to correct the slope of your gutters and install a new drip edge.”

And Michael J. Scott’s shocking response to this reasonable proposal was to refuse, accuse me of blackmail and stopped all communication!? Michael J. Scott states, “What you have offered is not acceptable; we have offered a generous solution for a problem unrelated to our products but we will not issue a check.” What!? It is obvious Michael J. Scott did not even read his own legal document created by his own employees! This corporation cannot even communicate with each other successfully- it is no wonder why they are so counterproductive and contradicting from person-to-person. Next, Michael J. Scott says “Offering to remove your posts for payment is akin to blackmail and we will not be party to such action.” This comment is absurd and belligerent (at best) for the $800 payment is for fixing the improper gutter installation done by Gutter Helmet. And the request for updating/deleting my reviews is a request made by Gutter Helmet/SEMCO and not us; I just reaffirmed the fact that this would be done. If Gutter Helmet/SEMCO truly wanted to work with us they would have done so already and would not have been so closed to negotiations…yet…they will not even communicate to mediate. Why? Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s business model is by far the worst display of ineffective, unethical, unprofessional and combative conduct I have ever encountered in my entire life. So, I have to stand behind my original view of Gutter Helmet and inform everyone to “STAY AWAY!”

Update by user Dec 23, 2013

I have received a few requests to update my Gutter Helmet review with more information and hopefully this will answer any unanswered questions.

After posting my original grievance with the company, Gutter Helmet, we received no communication or assistance from the local owners (Kirt and Vicki Byerly). These owners were completely unsympathetic and unwilling to assist with our improper gutter installation done by Gutter Helmet. So, I tried to receive contact information on my territories regional manager, corporate office and/or a customer service department to complain where none was found or given by Gutter Helmet. This is a telling sign of their company policy; bottle-neck any legitimate complaints moving up the chain-of-command and making it so difficult to reach an authoritative individual of merit that their dissatisfied customer base will just give up out of pure frustration.

It was only through my own inquiries and no assistance from the company I found that Chelsea Welsh was the National Marketing Manager of Gutter Helmet/SEMCO. It turns out that Gutter Helmet is owned by SEMCO Southeastern Metals. I had to post another complaint online asking Chelsea Welsh to contact me since the only information I could find on her was personal and not business related and did not feel comfortable contacting her outside of work. Chelsea Welsh contacted me and stated she would mediate our situation and keep an open line of communication at all times, which turned out to be false. She explained some details to us that we were never aware of and that Gutter Helmet failed to inform us upon. First, we were told by Gutter Helmet’s sales representative (Linda Radunsky) that we would have a 10 year warranty on parts and labor. That fact was even confirmed by Vicki Byerly when she stated we were covered due to our 10 year warranty, but later refuted. After looking over our original sales receipt it states that a “written warranty” was supposed to be given at the time of job competition that we never received? Now, I am starting to see Gutter Helmet’s shady and unethical business practices at this point. Second, Gutter Helmet does not normally install gutters. I was confused when Chelsea Welsh told me this information since Gutter Helmet sold, installed and warranted our gutters!? Well, it turns out that Gutter Helmet subcontracted out our work with another company and never informed us upon this important information. If we had known all this information up-front we would have taken our business elsewhere. However, Gutter Helmet felt it was better to lie and deceive us out of our money instead.

After Gutter Helmet hires an unprofessional subcontractor to incorrectly install our gutters, I wanted to know what Gutter Helmet/SEMCO (at the corporate level) was willing to do to correct this issue. Chelsea Welsh stated she needed all our original paperwork form Gutter Helmet before moving forward. I thought this request was a bit odd since the last time I discussed this matter with our local Gutter Helmet (in Colorado Springs, CO.) they had copies of our original paperwork…mmm…how else were they able to look up our gutter installation information? I would have imagined Chelsea Welsh would have requested it from this particular Gutter Helmet location? Unless, Chelsea Welsh wanted to see if we still had our original paperwork and a possible legitimate legal case against them. Again, Gutter Helmet’s crude business tactics are quite apparent and is practiced, regrettably, throughout the entire company itself. It seemed Gutter Helmet was looking for an excuse to relinquish themselves of any liability and/or responsibility from their improper install; however I decided to accommodate her request. I sent Chelsea Welsh a copy of our original paperwork and figured they would want to fix their improper install and not prolong this matter further. Yet, I underestimated Gutter Helmet’s deceitfulness to force their will upon us.

After a considerable amount of time had passed, I finally received a voicemail message from a man named Kirt representing Gutter Helmet out of Denver. He stated that Chelsea Welsh gave him the okay to move forward in fixing our gutters. So, Kirt said he would be sending out a subcontractor to get an estimate of work needed to fix our gutters properly. The subcontractor, Jon Quesenberry, with Rain Guard Seamless Gutters came to the house and gave an estimate of work needed. He said he would send this information off to Gutter Helmet and would do the work as soon as Gutter Helmet approves it. A few days passed, yet again, with no contact from either Jon Quesenberry or Gutter Helmet, so I contacted Chelsea Welsh were she sends a legal document for us to sign at the last minute before proceeding with their promised work. Chelsea Welsh never stated we would have to sign anything before and now Gutter Helmet/SEMCO is making it a requirement? Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s legal document strips us of any legal action against the company, absolves them of any wrong doing and silences us from ever speaking out against the corporation in person or in writing for the rest of our lives…no joke…it states it as a requirement. Here is an example, “It is also agreed that Betty Duran and Jason Griego will never make a complaint or say a disparaging word in public or private or in person or electronically about Gutter Helmet and any persons or business associated with Gutter Helmet from now until the end of time. Betty Duran and Jason Griego also agree to immediately take down, remove, cease and desist any active complaints, disparaging reviews anything and everything in print or electronically with any naming Gutter Helmet or its agents.” Yes, this is verbatim and just a portion of their absurd document they wanted us to sign.

Once I question this legal document’s necessity and expressed our reluctance to sign it (especially before any work was done) Chelsea Welsh became agitated and cut off all contact. So, how do you mediate if the mediator themselves will not communicate with you? That’s right, you can’t! Chelsea Welsh’s mannerism was extremely childish and unprofessional on her part. She went as far as commenting on my posts afterwards, but did not have the common decency to communication with us? And as far as her comments, I never tried to hide the fact that I was speaking on my family’s behalf upon this matter…where I told her this from the beginning. Also, Chelsea Welsh’s distasteful comment of accusing me of cyber-bulling her is a straight out lie and ridiculous. I was contacting Chelsea Welsh because she was our negotiator in this matter. I cannot believe Gutter Helmet’s extreme unprofessional, combative and unethical manner has gone unchecked from its affiliate, Gibraltar Industries Company.

After Chelsea Welsh broke off all contact, I decided to contact Kirt at the Denver office to find out what the *** was going on? I was immediately contacted with another Gutter Helmet representative, Carl Shive that had to call Chelsea Welsh personally to find out what was happening. Sad, but true, I was forced to talk through a third-party in order to communicate with our unresponsive mediator. Quite absurd I know, but it gets worse. Carl Shive told me the Vice President of Gutter Helmet/SEMCO, Michael J. Scott, would be taking over this situation personally. I thought, finally, we would be able to move forward in a timely manner with a more experienced professional, but I was terribly mistaken.

Michael J. Scott’s first email communication was to advise us not to communicate with Chelsea Welsh, which was apparent at this point. Also, by personally replying to Chelsea Welsh’s unprofessional comment left on my review was “inflammatory and libelous and will not be tolerated!” Really? So, Gutter Helmet is finding fault in trying to clarify a situation or just exercising our First Amendment right altogether? Yes, an awful start towards mediation if this was ever Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s true intention.

At this point, I spoke with the Better Business Bureau to help facilitate this situation and forwarded Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s documentation for review. The Better Business Bureau advised to receive the $800 check and pursue our own subcontractor for work needed for the signed legal document, which is stated in Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s own document. However, request this exchange to be done at a local Better Business Bureau in person to assure Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s sincerity to fulfill their promise at time of signing. Here is that portion of the document verbatim, “Please understand, Gutter Helmet can’t be held responsible for gutter installations, but for this special situation we will remedy this problem by hiring Rain Guard Seamless Gutter or issuing a check for you to pick your own contractor. Gutter Helmet will pay a sum of $800 to repair your installation issues. This payment is to correct the slope of your gutters and install a new drip edge.”

And Michael J. Scott’s shocking response to this proposal was to refuse, accuse me of blackmail and stopped all communication!? Seriously!? Mr. Scott states, “What you have offered is not acceptable; we have offered a generous solution for a problem unrelated to our products but we will not issue a check.” What!? It is obvious Michael J. Scott did not even read his own legal document created by, Gutter Helmet/SEMCO. This corporation cannot even communicate with each other successfully- it is no wonder why they are so contradicting and counterproductive. Next, Michael J. Scott says “Offering to remove your posts for payment is akin to blackmail and we will not be party to such action.” This comment is absurd and belligerent for the $800 payment is for fixing the improper gutter installation done by Gutter Helmet. And the request for updating/deleting my reviews is a request made by Gutter Helmet/SEMCO and not us; I just reaffirmed the fact that this would be done. If Gutter Helmet/SEMCO truly wanted to work with us they would have done so already and would not have been so closed to negotiations…yet…they will not even communicate to mediate. Why? Gutter Helmet/SEMCO’s business model is by far the worst display of ineffective, unethical, unprofessional and combative conduct I have ever encountered in my entire life. So, I have to stand behind my original view of Gutter Helmet and inform everyone to “STAY AWAY!”

Original review posted by user Oct 29, 2013

We originally had our old gutters replaced due to water leakage with new gutters through Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region a few years ago (Colrado Springs, CO.). Our sales representative (Linda) had the installers (Zac and Scott) install the new gutters.

After the install we continued to have water leakage, so I had the company come out (yet again) to fix the problem. This time the employee representing Gutter Helmet (Troy) cocked the brackets of the gutters that were NEVER the issue and said, "You're good to go! No more leaks...I guarantee it!" However, the leakage problem continued and STILL continues to this day! Our gutters NOT only drain incorrectly, but NOW we have water leakage between the gutters and fascia boards causing MORE water damage and rot, which we did NOT have an issue with before we had the "new gutters" installed!

After calling out several other reputable companies, we found that ALL my gutters were improperly installed. I wanted to give Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region one last opportunity to make things right before I take legal action, but by this time a new owner took over the company (Kirt Byerly). And I was told by his wife (Vicki Byerly) and an employee (Iris) that Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region would honor ALL the previous agreements/warranties of the previous owner (which we were given a 10 yr. warranty on parts and labor) and to not worry about it since we are within that time-frame.

However, when the new owner Kirt Byerly came out to inspect the work done by Gutter Helmet he accepted NO liability or responsibility by voiding my warranty! And to add insult to injury, Kirt did NOT offer any help or reconciliation!? I was shocked at how little this man cared...he even went as far to blame the majority of my problems on the roofers and NOT on Gutter Helmet's install!? Where we were having gutter issues with Gutter Helmet's install way BEFORE in had my roof redone!

I will NEVER use this company again due to their negligence and unwilling to accept responsibility.

Gutter Helmet did not only lose my business but my friends and family’s business as well. I would strongly advise AGAINST using Gutter Helmet for any gutter work and would suggest you to take your business elsewhere!

Product or Service Mentioned: Gutter Helmet Of The Pikes Peak Region Gutter Installation.

Monetary Loss: $1200.

Company wrote 0 private or public responses to the review from Oct 29, 2013.

Comments

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #1192242

So. How did this fiasco turn out? Anyone know?

jhamlin
Mesa, Arizona, United States #899965

Robert82. If you purchase a company from a previous owner you need to be prepaired to fix any problems no matter what when you buy the company you buy the good with the bad.

I was in business. For 30 yrs always easyer to fix than to fight and cheaper

Anonymous
Denver, Colorado, United States #868559

I was thinking of having this company install a gutter system on my home.... sure glad I read this review. I will advise my friends and any one that mentions the product to me of this review.

Anonymous
to Tony Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States #899087

Thanks was thinking of using their gutters will find local Washpa co and expect plain old fashion

word of workmen without companies written bs.

Anonymous
Elyria, Ohio, United States #863545

I completely understand this whole mess with Gutter Helmet and have had my own ridiculously surreal and amazingly *** dealings with their ridiculously surreal and amazingly *** "employees", "supervisors", "managers", and "district operations people" and I use all those terms very loosely. To make a very long story short, 2 months after getting my Gutter Helmet installed, I watched rainwater totally overflow out of the gutter helmets and observed the creation of large ponds all around my house, which was just lovely for the neighborhood ducks, but not so lovely as it flooded my basement.

When I called GH to ask "***" ? I was told that my ROOF was dirty and that I needed to climb up on the roof and completely clean and spray it off so my Gutter Helmet would work properly. So.... let me get this straight.....

I paid close to $3000 so I would "Never Have to Clean My Gutters Again!" and would not have to feel unsafe climbing huge ladders to clean my gutters. EVER AGAIN! GREAT ! But NOW I'm told that I need to climb up and walk around on the ROOF instead.

And that this is to be expected and to prepare to do this on a yearly basis. And please, don't even get me STARTED about the car-size icicles that I just know will eventually break off and kill me, my family, or some poor innocent visitor. Gutter Helmet is THE most scam-based business ever created, and the only comfort I have is in knowing that KARMA exists, and the Universe is not fond of lying, cheating, and thieving people.

Don't worry, all, they will get theirs eventually. Can't wait.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #823367

What a horrible company run by horrible people...this is an outrage! You need to contact the BBB, FTC and file a lawsuit ASAP!!!

Anonymous
#797505

Stay away from Gutter Helmet altogether...seriously...they are the WORST gutter company available. Gutter Helmet guards are faulty guards that will NOT function properly and will damage your home in the long-run costing more money.

The staff are untrained and will NOT help you once you have a problem...they are incompetent and unprofessional. I would NEVER recommend Gutter Helmet to anyone looking for gutter protection.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #796986

I would advise you to seek out legal counsel for your disagreement with Gutter Helmet if you haven’t done so already. It’s clear neither Gutter Helmet’s regional installer in Colorado Springs, CO.

or the national manufacture is willing to aid in your dilemma. I’m glad you went with your intuition and decided not to sign Gutter Helmet’s legal release form, which would’ve absolved your lawsuit. Gutter Helmet is obviously not familiar with Colorado State law and they are ethically responsible and legally bound to fix your gutters correctly. However, your lawsuit needs to focus towards the local owner of Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region a.k.a Gutter Helmet of Southern Colorado.

It’s important that you still have your original sales receipt for proving your contract with Gutter Helmet. If you have any additional questions seek out legal advice with a Contract Attorney within the state of Colorado.

Good luck and best wishes!

Anonymous
Orlando, Florida, United States #796118

THANK YOU for this review! I will NOT use Gutter Helmet!! :x

Anonymous
Buffalo, New York, United States #795013

I have not had to clean my gutters since 1990.. Replaced the roof in 2000.

Gutter Helmet removed and reinstalled the Helmet. I have no problems. My neighbor went with another company to reinstall his helmet and has had nothing but problems..

Great Product! Great service!

Anonymous
to Just ask Kev #797381

Just ask Kev says he is in Buffalo, New York but his IP Address states he is in Colorado? He also posted as Anonymous from Newark, New Jersey under the title, Gutter Helmet-I never had to clean my gutters since 1990". It doesn't surprise me that Gutter Helmet would create fake postings, they have been doing it for years!

Anonymous
to Just ask Kev #1373664

Kev,

I am also in Buffalo, New York.

I have been looking for a reliable local company for Gutter Helmet installation.

Would you be willing to share the name of the company with whom you had the good experience?

I would appreciate your guidance.

Thank you. Michael

Anonymous
Buffalo, New York, United States #795010

I read through the entire review from the Jan 8th complaint. There is NO PLACE in the entire 3 page complaint that say that "Gutter Helmet was even installed..

I seen the inside view of the gutter and it looks like it was calked to the fascia board. If there was no added charge to do that then the Gutter Installer went beyond their responsibility. Their roof has NO DRIP edge! That is your problem.

Drip edge is the responsibility of the roofer.. Not the gutters and defiantly not Gutter Helmet...

Anonymous
#776285

#gutterhelmetsucks

Anonymous
#772406

Semco Southeastern Metals treats their employees just a poorly as their customers. Their is an element of fear within the corporation.

If you say anything against Semco's policies or criticize how situations are poorly managed they will fire you real quick!

I'm surprised they are still in business? :x

luciddreamer78
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #771200

I am aware my updated review on Gutter Helmet did not display paragraph brakes that makes it difficult to read. My apologies.

I tried posting it twice with no luck. However, Pissedconsumer.com's staff is working on fixing this bug.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #767306

What an awful example how far a company will go to save a few bucks. I'll definitely tell my family and friends to stay clear of Semco's Gutter Helmet, but the worst part of it all is this issue could've easily been averted.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #762630

The Byerly's here in Colorado Springs, CO. have another company called, "Around the House, Inc." that I wouldn't recommend either.

These business owners are inexperienced and incompetent.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #761693

Poor Customer Service + Faulty Products + Inflated Prices = Gutter Helmet!!!

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #740123

I can understand both sides of the issue, but why is this local Gutter Helmet owner unwilling to help these people out?

Anonymous
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States #739724

Weird dude, you say in your 3rd paragraph these people you are bashing are new owners of the franchise, but they didn't do the contracted work on your gutters, they just took over the sales and warranty of that Gutter Helmet product that I don't see you having in these pictures. Do you even have or ever had Gutter Helmet?

It doesn't look/sound like you do. So why would they have to warranty another contractors work?!!!!! Crazy, like me driving to the Toyota dealer and getting mad at them for another mechanics bad work across town. Go on Judge Judy and prepare to have your rear handed to you!

That's just weird you wouldn't read your complaint and see the light.

Do you know the difference between a CONTRACTOR and a PRODUCT? I bet they would warranty a lifetime warranted product if you actually HAD THE PRODUCT!

Anonymous
to SamIam #837846

What!? You make absolutely no sense SamIam...this person bought their gutters with the company. If I had a problem with my product or install with Gutter Helmet it only makes common sense to complain to the company...duh!

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #739434

I know the new Gutter Helmet dealer and they have a great reputation in the market and have been doing lots of great work out at my house for years. Not sure how things got mixed up with you, but they are great.

The old owner of the franchise I know of, and he is the one you should go after since they couldn't have installed these gutters you are having issues with.

Gutter Helmet is a good product too that works great. It looks like you don't have the product which is a shame, because it does really great things for the gutters!

Anonymous
to Robert82 #837849

That's strange Robert82, Gutter Helmet has a horrible track record. And the Colorado Springs owners are not highly recommended. And with this posting I can finally see why Kirt Byerly is someone NOT to do business with.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #739077

NOOOO, you ***! You should have NEVER REMOVED THE Gutter Helmet off before they could see what was wrong (pictures) and diagnose!

My house had storm damage, even wrecked my roof, and Gutter Helmet fixed it 100% even fixing the gutters on my house for free and gave me new models and colors of the product. Gutter Helmet was totally awesome! I'm not sure Gutter Helmet can warranty the Helmet anymore if you took it off yourself... or maybe wind took it?!

I'm pretty sure it even says in the paperwork if you remove it yourself before they inspect the damage to the Helmet, it's more of a process to determine coverage.

Unless there is visible damage to the roof and where the Gutter Helmet was. BAD move, good luck.

Anonymous
to chris4president #837851

Ha! You need to re-read the posting Chris4president.

The owner clearly states they purchased gutters with Gutter Helmet and it was install incorrectly and the company will not fix their own unskilled workmanship.

That is the whole issue...come on man. Learn to read.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #738949

Happy Gutter Helmet customer in Woodland Park. This is the second home we've had it installed on and Kirt, the new dealership owner as of 2 years ago, installed the latest system and was wonderful.

Very helpful taking card of the gutters before installing the Gutter Helmet product. It works great in the trees and the one time I had them out, it was trouble free and fast.

Love these guys!

Anonymous
to SunAndMountains #837855

SunAndMoutains, every former Gutter Helmet customer that lives within a forested area always states they were initially satisfied with the product (as long as they had a good install, which is rare). However, in time the product will allow the smaller pine needles, foliage to pass into the gutter and since the gutter guard cannot be taken off to be cleaned correctly it leaves debris build-up that will clog the gutters eventually causing water damage to the home during the wet months and a fire hazard during the dry months. Not worth it in the long-run; Gutter Helmet will destroy the homes value in time.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #738795

These are the same folks who installed my Gutter Helmet last summer and repaired it after part of our home was damaged from a falling tree that caught fire, which did not burn our home thanks in large part to the clean gutters we have with Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region. The gals I talked to were great and helpful and the gentleman who came out, I believe it was Kirt, was down to earth and very helpful recommending things to help me save money and fix problems that weren't theirs to fix for no cost.

I really got the impression that they had my best interest in mind. I will do business with them again and always tell my neighbors; one of which had their house burn because their gutters were full of pine and bark. They are ordering from Gutter Helmet Pikes Peak Region right now.

Gutter Helmet helped saved my home.

Anonymous
to juneflowers #837856

Juneflowers, you just elaborated my point with SunAndMountians without knowing it; the build-up of debris from any non-removable gutter guard is a fire hazard. Look, it's a bit far fetched to say your home didn't burn down due to the Waldo Canyon/Black Forest fires because your gutters were clean out as you stated. However, Gutter Helmet's guards have been proven to clog overtime and will cause a major fire hazard to your home in time.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #738743

We live in the Broadmoor area of Colorado Springs and love our Gutter Helmet. We've had it 10 years, and after a hail storm last year, a couple panels were damaged by baseball-size-hail and they came out and replaced all the damaged gutters and the Gutter Helmet for free.

The owner said he had just taken over the year before and was kind, professional and quick.

I think they did great and I love my Gutter Helmet.

Linda

Anonymous
to LindaV #837859

I don't think you realize LindaV that once Gutter Helmet is install onto your home it voids your roof warranty for they have to lift up your shingles. Good luck with that nightmare scenario.

Never, never, never install a gutter guard system that disrupts your roofs integrity you will always be sorry.

Anonymous
Denver, Colorado, United States #738735

Wow, you posted this same thing twice?! How did I not see it?

How are they responsible for you gutters if they didn't install them originally and what does the product have anything to do with it. You don't have it on your gutters!

Yes, I posted on your other sad attack too.

Anonymous
to Handyman303 #837866

Handyman303, you're a tool and probably a Gutter Helmet employee. Gutter Helmet did install these people's gutters. Please, learn to read properly.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #737674

Our family finished building a new home out in Black Forest and we are in need of a professional gutter company and it's good to know who is worth doing business with...thank you for sharing your story. I will keep away for Gutter Helmet.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #736585

I live in the same neighborhood as the Byerly's and have exchanged pleasantries, but I don't knew them well. After reading how they mistreated you and your family I have to say my opinion on them has changed.

You have my sympathy and I completely understand why your frustrated with the lack of assistance. The Byerly's should be ashamed of themselves for being such shrewd business owners. I hope you find someone more reliable to do your gutters.

Good Bless.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #736344

I would never go with Gutter Helmet. What a bunch of jokers!

I might be able to help you out Luciddreamer78. Contact me.

:grin

P.S. I would contact the local news companies here in Colorado Springs and tell your story.

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #735936

Does this company not have a corporate office working on customer complaints? If not, they need one!

You would think that Gutter Helmet being such a recognized name and being around for so many years would be more business savvy? It's way cheaper to take care of a customer's grievances then to let it escalate. That's business 101.

Now this local division of Gutter Helmet has a poor reputation. :upset :x

Anonymous
New York, New York, United States #735840

Wow, I'm no gutter expert and even I can tell this is a botched job! :eek That is a horrible story, and lucky I read this before calling them.

Thanks a lot for the post and hopefully you find a better company. :grin

Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #735633

I feel your pain...Gutter Helmet is a horrible product and didn't even know they were still in business because of so many complaints against the franchise. Sorry they did such a *** poor job on your house.

If I were you I would bash them too...you might want to look into an attorney or take them to small claims court. Good luck in fixing your problem.

Anonymous
#735341

Why is this review against Gutter Helmet? We have the product here in Colorado and it works awesome.

You don't even have the product! Leave those people alone, I feel bad they have to deal with a dumb guy like you!

What's wrong with you? Get a life.

luciddreamer78
to Edward Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #735664

Hey Edward, so why is this post against Gutter Helmet? Well, it is because we purchased our gutters through Gutter Helmet of the Pikes Peak Region, they installed our entire gutter system and I have a valid warranty with the company on parts/labor.

Unfortunately they used unskilled, shady installers at the time and didn't correctly install our gutters and have done nothing to correct the issue. And yes, I do have the product and have the legal documentation to prove it as well. I'm glad your experience with Gutter Helmet was positive I just wish I could say the same.

However, thanks for sharing your viewpoint.

Anonymous

drip edge is missing, whoever did the shingles left it out, not the fault of gutter installer

luciddreamer78
to pj Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States #735662

Hey PJ, thanks for the comment! However, you are wrong about the roofers taking responsibility for installing drip edge unless they are a licensed gutter installer as well. I've looking into this and it is the sole responsibility of the gutter installers to put in drip edge and/or gutter apron that protects the gutters and fascia boards and NOT the roof itself.

View more comments

You May Also Like